Season Finale

Ladies and Gentlemen: Joanna Clark

Did they have to announce everything?!?

Oh well…on with the show. The Season Finale of American Idol.

Group song: everyone boring and again in all white (Except for Syesha’s legs).

The 2 David’s doing Heroe worked for me but little David was terribly out sung during it. He kept hanging onto the notes waaaaayyy too long.

Mike Myers skit was just stupid. Poor little David A. was so confused. Hated it!

Seal and Syesha was painfully awful. I love that song (TNT & TBS tv show promos all summer long was to this song!) But they did a terrible job.

They must have had a talk with John Castro because he seemed almost present. Probably no that you are our paid AI flunky stop acting like you are on 20 blunts and get your act together.

The Ford cars looked cool. SUV Hybrid. That’s cool.

Top 6 girls…yawn. Terrible.

Carly Simon and Michael Johns doing The Letter. I ABSOLUTELY hated it. The arrangement was blasphemy. They could have chosen a better song for those voices to sing. I had to go on youtube to show the girls the ACTUALLY song. Unrecognizable.

Kimmel…you could hear the crickets when he talked about the “19 week karaoke contest”. Painful. He clowned Sanjaya…2 points!

Top 6 boys…pretty good. Except John Castro. Then they continued 80’s night with Brian Adams who was almost unrecognizable. Like Luke Skywalker from Star Wars to Empire Strikes Back (and yes Star Wars geeks I know Mark Hamill was in a motorcycle accident…even though he later downplays it!).

ZZ Top and David Cook – Sounded good…although I can’t remember the lyrics? LOL! Were they his heroes?!?

Brooke is back with her guitar. Ok.

An hour still to go….

I had to ask me the 8 year olds who those kindergartners on the stage were. I thought I had sat on the remote control and accidentally turned the channel to Disney.

David A.’s turn doing Apologize. That sounded like the album he will make. He should have done this song when he was able to choose last week.

Got to meet David’s family…explains a lot.

Jordan Sparks came back to the idol stage singing to a track. She looked terrible. We see the image people were obviously out when it came to her dress, shoes, hair, nails and make-up. Blake looking on in the audience thought perhaps he could have sung the song better.

Gladys Knight and the…overpaid actors shamelessly plugging their new summer film.

Carrie Underwood looked fabulous! Easy to see why she is a star.

George Michael melody sounded pretty good.

GEORGE MICHAEL!!!! What a coo!!!! Love that man. And he sung my song!!! I just rewatched Carrie Underwood singing this song on youtube during American Gives Back. I would have loved if she came back on stage.

And the winner is DAVID COOK!!!! I can’t believe it!!! I wanted him to win soooo bad but I didn’t think he could do it! And David A. handled it like a pro. That is the last place I would want to be as the loser. But my hats off to him.

Gotta go and rewatch over and over again. I’m hooked all over again!!!!! See you in January!!

The Final Two

It is finally here! The AI season finale! Yeah! I am not nearly as excited as I have been in previous years. It’s like watching the last few episodes of the Real World a few years ago. My age was showing. I think that is the real issue with this season. It is trying to appeal to too many different age groups. But whatever…I’m watching now. So on with the show!

The Michael Buffer boxing opening. I love boxing. But that was silly! David A. almost looked tough. The banter so far hasn’t been too bad. Too bad Clive couldn’t get up in time for the camera to catch his wave. I guess boxing is gonna be the theme all night. Pretty original for AI when you think about it.

David Cook – Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – I have really grown to like him despite what I have said about him over these past few weeks. I think the performance was good. He looked great performing in front of that crowd. No chills, but good opening to the competition.

David Archuleta – Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me – The problem with this performance is that David Cook had so much energy and his song is like a comedown. He sang it well, not the point. I also had Clay Aitken ringing in my head. He had more energy than he EVER has these season with this performance. He brought it at the end! And some genuine emotion. Finally! Someone either had a talk with him or he read the boards. Randy is right! He picked the PERFECT time to peak!

Round One: Archuleta – They are definitely bringing it tonight!

David Cook – Dream Big – Great performance. Never heard the song before from a reality show contestant…and you immediately want to buy it? Great job! I like his style, his coolness, and his voice. I agreed with Simon. He said he wanted David Cook to win on Leno last night because he felt he deserved it more. Than he better start steering the critiques to something more positive.

David Archuleta - In This Moment – Terrible. I just didn’t care and it was really weak. The background singers didn’t help. I could not hear this at the end of finale, I would not buy it, download it for free or even keep the channel tuned to it on the radio. Bad choice. Not all ballads are good.

Round Two: Cook

David Cook – The World I Know – A good performance but too mellow for his final performance on that stage. I wish he would have done the song from the musical. Solid performance. But this is a competition. He came to perform. To stay in the moment. Not sure do much to win this silly little competition. He should be extremely proud of himself and what he accomplished this year. He made me tear up at the end. I agreed with Paula about his integrity and Simon that he should have done the musical song for me and the Billy Jean song for the crowd.

David Archuleta – Imagine – He did this song better this time. He didn’t add anything to it so I was impressed. Good song choice for his last and final song. Was it enough?

Round Three: David Cook

Look…I would love an upset and for David Cook to win. David Archuleta can’t even must the tears to cry like David Cook. I don’t think it was a knock out at all. David A. is the AI pop guy…but David Cook is the musician. Watching the playbacks…I think its clear that David Cook should win. But David A. has a beautiful and amazing voice. Who do you vote for? If you don’t vote….you can’t complain!

PS. I’ve always loved Ruben. Of course his diet is going about as well as mine…but I love my velvet teddy bear.

Top 3 Perform

The Final 3


Finally the best of the best. I have been looking forward to this week for...weeks. I like the early performances and then the end once they get rid of the riff raff. So here we go!

Round 1:


David A. - And So It Goes - Good job. He has a pitch perfect for acapella-ish songs are always going to be good for him. The music kind of threw it off in places for me. I think it would have been better without the music. But it was still a great performance. Really great. I agree with Simon. It was as expected.

Syesha - If I Aint Got You - Good song choices tonight. I think this made her seem a tad a little bit too old. Her version is not as fresh as Alicia Keyes. For the first time I thought she was shouting. I thought the whole thing was too loud. It wasn't terrible, but not her best performance. She did look lovely.

David Cook - The First Time Ever I Saw You Face - Interesting choice. Sabotage! But I didn't hate it. But I didn't love it. I liked his Broadway music number was his best. I did appreciate him trying his best.

Winner: David A.

Round 2:

David A. - With You - I thought I would hate this. But I REALLY appreciate the fact that he tried something different. Maddie and Taylor were shouting in disgust at the tv. He is NOT hip hop. He has a lot of work to be a pop singer. He is a ballad guy. He might have tried a song by Nick Lachey or Justin Timberlake. Ease into pop like them.

Syesha - Fever - Can you say Stripper? It was a sexy and sultry performance. Extremely easy song. She went back to her bread and butter, stage performance. She is an actress that can sing. She will do well on stage after all this is said and done. She is working it tonight. Not my cup of tea but she is definitely on fire.

David Cook - Switchfoot - Good song choice. No one knows this song in the audience. But he was typical David Cook and it sounded okay. Nothing new. Agree with Paula, it was way too abrupt.

Winner: David Cook


Round 3: The producers got a song choice?!? What the hell!

David A. - Longer - Even though a pretty old song choice, it sounded beautiful coming from him. I got chills. I can hear that song on his album. Great job.

Syesha - Hit Me Up - Perfect song choice. First time I have heard her sing something modern. I think she oversang it a little bit. Like David A., she needed to cut off her lyrics too.

David Cook - I Don't Want to Miss A Thing - His voiced was worked! You can tell he has been practicing for the chance of his life. I think it was a good performance. I think his 2nd or 3rd best performance of the competition. But it is a hard song not to compare to the original. It think he did way better in the earlier rounds.

Winner: David A.

Night winner - David A.

So VOTE!!!!!! I would be absolutely DEVASTATED if either of the Davids didn't make it to the finals. It would be an absolute upset! Especially counting the number of times Syesha has been in the bottom 2.

So I will toss my votes for the Davids, hold my breath tomorrow and look forward to next week. Until then, C-ya!

Top 4 Perform - Rock in Roll Hall of Fame

The final weeks of American Idol. Supposed to be the best of the best. Well..not quite. Some best (Davids) and some not so best (John). Let's see how they do!


Hungry Like the Wolf - David Cook up first, it seemed like a really easy song. This stage of the game, we need chills. That was simple performance. Not bad. Compare it to the original (I was actually going to a Duran Duran concert at the Hard Rock hotel in Vegas this weekend!) this was not a great performance. Just ok.

Proud Mary - Syesha – I loved her energy. She seemed to just want to have fun since she knows she is going home tomorrow. Performance A-, singing B-. I played it again without looking at the screen and just listening. Not a great vocal performance. But loved the energy.

I Shot the Sheriff - John Castro – Please stop allowing him to speak. He could have picked a better reggae song. What is up with the band?!? Not sure why it is so off. Sounds extraordinarily bad. Not sure its dummy’s fault. Pretty weak for this late in the season. That rag doll sign that audience member was holding had more personality than the real Jason Castro. Simon wanted to jump on stage and kick his ass.

Stand By Me – David Archuleta – I wish he could have changed and developed these weeks. He is exactly the same as he was in the beginning. The performance was good. I liked his open eyes…that was a change! He is a good singer. I liked how he seemed to sing to the girls. Still awkward…but good effort. All he needs is better stage performance and connect with the audience…he would be there! Superstar! We definitely should have a David vs. David finale.

Baba O’Riley – David Cook – Good song choice because most of the kids heard it and thought…I don’t know that song, but I think I have heard it before? (it has been played in movies, tv shows, commercials and covered by many popular folks). It was nice to see him go back to his rock roots.

I Was Born by the River – Syesha – Didn’t like it. I didn’t like the dress, makeup or the performance. Bad choice and arrangement. Wrong mood. I felt that it was heartfelt. But unfortunately the performance was not that good. He didn’t agree with Paula. But he felt bad. He knows this was her moment and that she is going home. Let her go home with some dignity.

Mr. Tambourineman - John Castro - Eh, eh, eh, eh, eh, eh, eh. ‘nuff said? He is such a disrespectful idiot. No respect for the music. No respect for the mentors. No respect for the process. He is BY FAR worse than Sanjaya ever was. Simon is going to cross the producer line and kick that boy off. Syesha is lucky.

Love Me Tender – David Archuleta – Nice arrangement. I can see this bein played at weddings (Caucasian of course…we darker folks usually stick to Luther Vandross). I definitely see that version recorded. He really does have a beautiful voice. Watched it again…even better.

So best performance David A, followed by David Cook. Syesha good not great. John Castro needs to be put down like that horse in the Kentucky Derby. If Cook or Archuleta goes home, plan on the theatre being burned to the ground and Simon jumping on the stage and throwing John Castro off the couch and Paula collapsing in a pool of her own tears. With that said…Syesha or John going home. Again, I think Simon is going to step in because its becoming such a joke and making sure its John. We shall see….c-ya!

Top 5 Perform - Neil Diamond night

Carly is watching from home tonight. Say hi, Carly! Ryan is such a jerk!

This is American Idol. Neil Diamond night. Nothing against him but they have got to stop these theme nights. Tired, tired, tired.

Jason Castro – Mr. Goofy. It must be extremely frustrating for a true musician to have to deal with his dumb ass. First song, terrible. But I had the same low expectations that I have always had for him, so no surprise. The arrangement didn’t work for me at all in the beginning. Please give my eardrums the happiest day of their life and send him home.

David Cook – His singing was ok but the guitar playing was a little off. I am not sure if it was him or the band. I liked the drums. It was quick and short.

It seemed like they were rushing through the first 30 minutes of the show. How about this idea AI, stop being a whore and make the show 30 minutes with real performances? Just a thought…

Brooke – Was way to enthusiastic. I didn’t like the lower register. I think this is everyone’s weakest weak yet. So it’s right now a battle for who sucks less. Hold on while I fast forward…

David Archuleta – That was painful. I think this did not work for me because he was supposed to be enthusiastic and he doesn’t know how to show emotions. I have karaoke the hell out of the song and it is a fun song. He made it weak and boring.

Syesha – She looked beautiful. They found a good look for her. Best of the night so far. I loved this song as a kid. She did a very sweet performance. Now that is singing. She should have ended with this song since she is the last performance. This would have been nice to end with. I re-listened a second...not as strong the 2nd time around but still good.

2nd Performances

Jason Castro – I liked this performance a lot better. I know those young fools when vote him through because he was doing that soft, singing and licking his lips.

David Cook – I don’t like them making the songs their own. It was ok but much like his earlier performances. I think I would have liked this without the guitar.

Brooke – OK. My disdain for her is more than I have Jason Castro. This is your dream to make it on Idol. You have a week to learn 2 minutes of 2 songs. You shouldn’t need hand crib notes. Look – I was Annie in my high school play. I understand pressure!!!

(ok..I was just checking to see who reads these. But I was Annie. A couple of drinks and I will show you the pictures). I did like the performance better than the first.

David Archuleta – Better. I just wish he would loosen up. If he could, he would truly be great. That is an emotional, patriotic song and he sang it well, but bland. I hate when people say this…its so crass…but I am going there. Brotha needs to get laid.

Umm…did Paula just call him a savant? I’m sure she meant the nice definition.

Syesha – I did not like this version. It should have just been her and the piano. Simon called it. He was right. She should have done the 1st song last.

Going home – Syesha. It should be Jason Castro. I won’t throw anything. Ok…I will try not to throw anything. C-ya tomorrow.

Top 6 perform

Andrew Lloyd Webber night

This can really show people who shine or be really, really bad. Even worse than the previous themes because you have to have a big voice to sing Broadway. Let’s see how they do…

Up first, Syesha: I didn’t like it. She started off on the wrong beat (look at Asian composer looking around confused). I thought her voice was weak. I didn’t like it. Because it didn’t suck doesn’t mean it was good. I don’t think she has a Broadway voice like Jennifer Hudson or Fantasia. I don’t think she will be the worse tonight but a weak performance.

John Castro: Please oh please send him home. What a terrible pre-video! Basically Andrew said he was and idiot. That we know. But damn! Ok…the performance is not the best. It started off better than I thought. It then fell apart when he tried to use his lower register. It didn’t completely suck. Which is making me really, really mad because I want him to go home!!!! I think he should have totally picked another song.

I like Andrew Lloyd Webber. Brutally honest.

Brooke: Ok. I think I have recovered. I spent about 5 minutes in SHOCK with the show on pause (thank heavens for a DVR!!!). OMG. That had to be the single most shocking and embarrassing moment in Idol history! Big props for her getting it back together. I thought this was on its way to being her best performance, not vocally, but the performance. I think minus the slip, it still was. I did feel it and I thought she did too. I compared this to Madonna’s version. I thought it was good to see her in a different light. Stronger. I’m glad she stretched herself. I am very glad she listened and didn’t speak to the judges. She was fighting back tears and I’m glad she won. Big ups!!!

Loving me some Andrew Lloyd Webber

David A: Beautiful vocally. He was struggling to keep those eyes open. I agree 100%. When he opened his eyes he seemed to get more emotional. It allows him to better express some else besides golly gee shucks. I agree with Simon. He should stay but not a stand out performance. Pretty, but no chills.

Did I say how much I love Andrew Lloyd Webber

Carly: That’s my girl!!! She brought it! Are you kidding?!?! That performance was the bomb. I will note that Paula knows her music and that Carly cheated with the chorus. I agreed that it still sounded good.

David Cook: Wow! Chills. Man, he is the one to beat. I’m loving me some David Cook. Wow! Versatility!!!! Man. Wow. That’s all I can say. David A is such a little boy compared to him.

I loved this night. I had everything! Long live Idol!!

I can’t call it!!! It should be John Castro. But who knows what America will do.


See you all tomorrow!

Top 7 - Mariah Carey Week

Okay,,,now not only is John Castro an idiot…but so is Mariah Carey. Uhh..let me bring my dog to the practice. Idiot. And I thought black was not supposed to make you look fat? Mariah theme night? Are you crazy?!? Really bad idea. I know ever frickin Mariah Carey song so this is going to be hard. I was a “lamb” (what MC called her fans). I hope this goes well…on with the show.

David A. – I really cannot stand Kermit. Terrible arrangement. The performance was just okay. But I can’t blame him because the speed was terrible. The song was almost unrecognizable. He’ll stay because he has momentum.

Carly – She looked fantastic!!!! Finally. Her best performance to date. Soft, no shouting, understated. Beautiful! I did agree with Randy that I was scared in the beginning. But I think she pulled it off. It was hard because she can blow it out of the park and wanted to try something new. I think they should have appreciated that. I think if she would have powered through it as she has done on every other song, they would have said karaoke and over the top. I liken this to when Fantasia did Summertime. Not my favorite performance but it showed her range.

Syesha – Yo go sista girl! Bringing her A game. “All things considered”?!? Go play your base, Randy. No one can imitate Mariah. What the hell are they expecting?!? Syesha did a good job understanding she is singing a GREAT singer’s song.

Brooke – Rough vocals. It may have been better if she was just singing it without playing. The playing was extremely shaky and the stumble at the end didn’t help. I think an acoustic guitar would have been a nice touch. She did a very safe and bland performance. She seemed very nervous and rushed.

Kristy Lee – Yuck! Painful! Please stop! She is destroying this song. Not too mention the piano is bad. A country hit? What are country listeners deaf!

David C. – Did not work for me. But this is one of my favorite Mariah Carey songs (w/ the Venus of Love sample). I think he could have done this with Visions of Love because the lyrics are more generic. And Mariah is OF COURSE going to rip this off if the public likes it. I know I am going to be in the minority with people liking this…well...I’m already a minority so I’m use to it. I would agree with Paula that this could be in a sappy movie soundtrack song.

John Castro – Next to the previous performance, it was weak. But I think if I had heard that early on, it would have been better. I liked the opening. The middle and the end fell apart for me. His voice is far to weak for him to remain. But I liked it ok.

No a bad night. I thought it was going to be way worse. Top performance David C., David A. (even though not my cup of tea) and Carly. Bottom performances Kristy Lee, Brooke.

Going home…Syesha. Life’s not fair.

C-ya tomorrow.

Idol Gives Back

I watched Idol Gives Back last year and swore I would stay away this time. So much depression, tired performances and more Seacrest….not my idea of an entertaining night. So I didn’t really watch this year. But the kids tv was blaring and I found myself constantly flipping the channel back to Fox to catch a performance or two.

The bad:

I couldn’t stomach Fergie or Mile Cyrus. So can’t comment on them. Brad Pitt getting a standing ovation? Mariah Carey oversinging as usual (still good) but a little too much. Kimmell’s jokes about Simon. Snoop Dogg? Robin frickin Williams.

The good:

Chris Daughtry (miss u!). Gloria Estefan still rocking out and what??? How old is she?!? She seems ageless! Ben Stiller and the last scene of the show when he is cursing (did you turn the channel and miss it?).

Best of the best:

Annie Lennox – gave a really great, touching performance. See link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEVEjG3KrtM

Seasons of Love – I thought they did this well. Very understated. They may not have blended 100% but I was really impressed Kristy Cook. She is going to be around for awhile. David A. was good even though he fumbled though his lyrics. Carly has too much power. Syesha and David Cook were good as well. Even Johnny “Dopehead” Castro sounded great. See link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=34UguUZRABg

Carrie Underwood – finally the best performance of the night. I was never a fan (I wanted Bo to win that season). And she went the country music route so she completely lost me. But she has always been a fantastic singer. Tonight she proved it. She can sing any genre. It was a very soulful, heartfelt performance. See link below (just after Simon's comments).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wuv5ZT0r1jA


Enjoy!

Top 8 Week

Sorry I missed you guys last week for Chikeze and Ramiel vote off. I had a few internet issues. But I am back!!! I was sad to see Chikeze go home. He was not going to win…but I liked his performances. Ramiel definitely needed to go home. She is extremely talented but needs more time to mature and grow and be groomed by the right producer.

Michael Johns – Liked it. Liked his falsetto. But he still needs to work on stage performance. A little stiff.

Syesha – Don’t do someone who made a name for themselves on a song! After re-watching Fantasia on the season 3 finale on youtube, this paled in comparison. Go watch it! It is fantastic!!! Syesha…not so much. I think she is going home based on the performance. No emotion. Fantasia’s version will have you crying.

John Castro – OK I canot be impartial because I can’t stand him. I will assume it was good. Simple little tune. Star? Heck no. But sang a familiar easy song well.

Kristy Lee Cook – Boring. Even when she tried to bring it on home. But better performance to me than Syesha and John.

David Cook – Not my style of song and by far his worst performance. People like him and will keep him in but that was terrible. Extremely indulgent to think he can get up there and sing whatever?!? And the helluva corny “give back” on his hand? Give Me back that 1:30 seconds.

Carly Smithson – BAD song choice! What did they tell her about bluesy, soulful songs?!? Stick to those!!! Her need to do rock is going to be her downfall. Because when she does, karaoke all the way. She doesn’t clearly define her style. Great singer…but that is NOT enough.

David A. – Great performance. Loved the endings. I would have liked it better without the band and just the piano, would have been touching. I think he excels when he sings slow, soulful songs.

Brooke – She has definite niche. Sunday afternoon, easy listening, adult contemporary. She picks good songs for her. Not much change or stretch. But nice still.

Top 2 – David A, and Michael Johns.

Bottom 2 – Syesha and Kristy.

Going home…Syesha. See ya Thursday! (The Office is back!)

Top 10

Sorry y'all!

I am cable light right now so I had to listen to American Idol on the radio - Fox channel 87.7 on your dial! It gave me an interesting perspective of the singers because I could only hear and not see them.

I missed Ramiel because I was just getting in the car. I heard she sang Heart. Bad idea. I don't have to hear it to know that their songs are too big for her.

John Castro - He is such an idiot. And his stupid style is getting in the way of me enjoying him at all. Take Simon's advice and take this thing seriously.

Syesha - old song, but big voice. I like her more and more every week. I hope she stays away for a while.

Brooke - Again, same song different lyrics. She is reading the from page of Jewel. Even she mixed things up a bit and did pop. I would like to see her stretch and not just stay alive. Now is the time before the race gets too tight.

Chickizee - Love him but bad song choice. Only because it was so old and he is battling the "old man" persona as it is.

Carly - Now she can sing Heart. I didn't like the song. I think her problem is that she is so good but still is soooo karaoke. Not sure how she etches herself out and stops being an imitator.

David A. - What the hell song was that? Take Bambi and get the frick out of her. Way too indulgent. Yes, you can sing...but this is way more than just a singing contest. Grow a pair and do something daring.

Kristy - Safe, safe, safe even though she should be going home, home, home.

Michael John - I liked We Will Rock You. Not so much the shift into We Are the Champions. (Yes, I own the tape and disc anthology of Queen...I know its supposed to be that way!). I still love him and he is my top 4.

David Cook - Hated it. He is talented and I know I am alone. I didn't like when Chris Daughtry took a song and changed it around and I don't like when David does it either! But he is going to ride it all the way to the Top 4 as well.

Going home....tough call because everyone has such a strong fan base. Should be John Castro. Most likely will be Chickezee. We shall see in a few hours. Well...you should see...I will hear. :)

Cya!

The Top 11


American Idol – The Top 11

Favorite Line: I can blow you out of your socks! Hey! It’s a family show!

Back by popular demand, Beatles songs. Who’s popular demand?!? I want them to get to the other themes. And quickly. Never before have I wished so much for Salsa/Miami Sound night to be here. Ok….I may have put a little on that one (translation – I am exaggerating), but Beatles songbook is not a good selection for this group.

Amanda – Please of please voter her off. She sounds the same every song. Absolutely no range. Simon said it best and she has to show some type of variety for THIS contest. Who cares who she wants to fill her concert hall at the local VFW. This is a very specific contest.

Kristy – #1 problem: She should listen to the song and pick one that fits her voice and style. Not by the title of the song. She did not understand the mood of the song at all. Her main issue is her lack of style and her stage performance. Her voice is ok. But expect her to be the 1 of 2 at the end of the result show.

David A. – He must redeem himself. He shoots, he scores! Solid performance. He went back to what he knows. The audience was terrible during this song and interrupted my ability to enjoy it. They need to return to them *ssholes in their seats so that we can hear the performance. David was good though.

Michael Johns – I really liked him in the beginning. But he too may be following in the steps of Amanda where each song is starting to sound the same. He sung a great song but not chopped up the way it was. Awful! There were some great parts but as a whole it was terrible. Hold on…yes, Paula AND Ryan – you just made a bad situation worse by making Michael look like an ass. Good job, cheerleaders!

Brooke – Very safe performance. I think much of her songs are done with very little accompaniment and basically a cappella. She seemed a little awkward when she was moving around the stage. But the singing was sweet and pleasant. Not enough to win the contest but definitely enough to keep her here. She just needs to listen to the judges because her talking is making it awkward and worse. Just nod.

David Cook – Ok fine! He’s good. He has really chipped down my resistance by his pure talent. He is really good. Perfect song and solid performance.

Carly – My absolutely favorite. I am not a fan of the song but she did well with it. I just wish the audience would shut the hell up!!!! This is a soft song. Hard to do with the fools waving their arms off beat and screaming every 3 seconds! She was great! But hard to really shine because of the mood of the crowd. I didn’t agree with Simon. I think he was feeding off the audience being off, her awful blouse, and being all tattooed up. I think her on stool, long sleeves, no audience – it would have been different for him.

John – He is such an idiot. No more interviews for him. Wow! He was able to sing this song with very little conviction, energy or feeling. Talk about singing wallpaper. That is a description of that performance. He can be good, but he has to choose the right songs. Oh no! Ryan is going to talk to him. He is like a male Kelly Pickler.

Syesha – Chills. Beautiful performance. She looked great. Talk about singing with feeling and emotion. You felt her connection with that song. I could hear that song on the radio. You go girl!

Chikezie – Not his best performance. The beginning was really shaky. Why do all of his Beatles sound like bluegrass? But I do like him. Keep him in!!! It got better towards the end. I agree with Randy that the slow part was bad, fast part good.

Ramile – I think she should have tried Penny Lane. No, Michael Johns or John Castro should have done Penny Lane. Her performance was upbeat but not necessarily less boring. She has a great voice, just trying to find her niche. I like her personality and I want her to have another chance.

Top performances: Syesha, Carly, Both Davids.

Bottom performances: Kristy, John and Amanda. Going home – Kristy, her time is up. We shall see. Cya!

The Touring Top 12

Here we go everyone! The Top 12. The Best Ever. I won’t be able to comment on the banter because I an fast forwarding through all Seacrest and Judge commentary. : P

I hope it’s good!!!! We shall see….on to the show!


Syesha – It was ok. It did sound different than the Beatles version so my ear was ready for their version. But it was ok.

Chikizie- I thought it was a great performance. Definitely different. I liked it. I look forward to him learning how to work the stage. The movement and his dancing seemed a little hockie. But the singing was great. I definitely had a flashback to “o brother where art thou”.

Side note: Don’t ever touch a black man’s head. A big no-no.

Ramiele – I knew someone was going to fall down those stairs. Did you see the stumble. It was a pretty performance. But nothing new. She can sing but needs to bust out. I think its her star quality she has to find.

Jason – I would like to see him without the guitar. I would compare it to Ramiele’s performance. He will also have to leave his eyes open 80% of a song.

Carly – Hated the outfit. She has to watch coming across too old and too “karaoke on Saturday night”. I think I am the only one but I thought it was alright, not great. I will re-watch because maybe I am missing something. Maybe because it’s so polished. She has the star quality and does already perform like a seasoned performer. I watched it again. Great voice.

David Cook – I figured it out. He has the Constantine smirk or snarl. That is why I don’t like him. This was a Beatles song? The music and melody was better than his singing. He is a garage band, 2 drink minimum singer at best. I agree with Simon. He is not bad, but I don’t like him. And it would get in the way of voting for him.

Brooke – nice, okay, safe. She picks really good songs for her voice. But I would like to see her stretch in the coming weeks. I liked her effort to try and get into it. I didn’t buy it….but A for effort.

David Hernandez - Of course good stage performance. I would have liked a song that showcased his voice better. But he did an ok, job and should remain. It was upbeat but still just an ok performance.

Amanda - hate, hate, hate her. Call me closed minded. Fine. Just don’t call for HER! Pardon me while I press the fast forward button.

Michael – I liked it. Not sure the older audience will appreciate not being familiar with the original. Maybe they heard it in a commercial or trailer. I thought this version was a beat too slow. That made it turn boring to me.

Kristy – Is that blood dripping from my ears? I though Amanda was bad….of course…such as in life…it COULD get worse. Everybody, say hello to worse. 1 judge said they liked the country twang and we get to listen to a ho-down until she’s gone. I do hate to say that she looked like she was having fun and was on key.

David Archuleta – thinkmmffrpp. We can work it outnnmmaafoo. Are those the lyrics? Wow! Stage fright got the best of him tonight. I think he has done enough in the past to stay even though we KNOW his performance was terrible and he should go home. Oh yeah, the arrangement was false, silly and a BAD idea. I appreciate Simon giving it him straight. I would have liked David to stop being a robot and speak openly. I like him less.

Top performances: Chickizee, Carly, Brooke. Bottom: David A., Ramiele, Amanda, Kristy – mainly girls. Going home….tough one…because it has become popularity contest. It will probably be…..Ramiele and Kristy, maybe John Cook. But this is a true test of fan bases. Anyway…we shall see. Cya tomorrow.

Top 8 & 8 Results Show

Blake Lewis was not great. I like the new goodbye song (I think it's by him?) but that performance was boring. It was a lame attempt at being cool and hip but just felt weak to me.

On to the results: I think America got it right.

Luke Maynard was just too sappy to take.

Kady will be on MadTv or SNL doing impersonations. She has a great personality, it just didn't come through when she was singing. She should have just went for broke and sung her goodbye song in a Britney Spears voice!

Asia'h was a one hit wonder. Her audition was heart breaking but then she tried to sing power ballads that didn't fit her voice and it exposed her weakness. She should have stuck with Anita Baker-ish songs. Sung everything in her lower register.

Daniel Noreiga. It was sad to see him go and I think he can sing. But he had too much personality and it got in the way of the singing. I would have liked to have seen more of him over David Cook. I think Chickezie deserved to say because his performances were solid.

So off we go to the Top 12. Bigger stage, better song selection, the image machine starts cranking. Too me, this is the best part of the show. I think they have a strong group this year. I think the boys are gonna take it! Until next week....c-ya!

Top 8 Girls

Paula was obviously on crack tonight. She shared some with Simon. They rambled on so much that Syesha got one word evaluations. The boys were better as a whole.

Asia'h - Good song choice. It was a good performance. I think she should do some Anita Baker or Toni Braxton with her deep voice in the future. She was ok.

Kady - If she makes it, 100% because of her lucks. She was terrible. And she has such a good voice.

Amanda - Different song, same performance. That's my major issue with her. I have seen absolutely nothing new from her.

Carly - Hated the song. She should do soul! So that she can stand out. She sounds too kaorke when she does rock. SHE can do Whitney or Chaka Khan.

Kristy - Good performance. I think she is getting better. Unfortunately I agree with Simon, she doesn't stand out.

Ramiele - Too young and inexperienced for this competition. She can sing, but she lacks the confidence to do the performances well. But she has the "mutts" on her side. The more Paula talked...the deeper she got!

Brooke - I thought it was nice, but nothing new. I want to see the other side of her. Not sure there is one. Remember Jewell made more $$$ when she dropped the whole homeless act and went pop. But Mrs.-Brooke-neve-watched-an-r-rated-movie may not have another side.

Syesha - I thought she did well. But if you close your eyes and think of Lakisha from last year singing that song and then open your eyes and see Syesha, you understand what Simon means we he says the song is too big. But a good enough performance to get her through.

Top 2 performance: Brooke and Amanda (they both stuck to the same formula). Bottom 2: Kady and Ramielle. But Ramielle has a big fan base...so it will probably be Kady and Kristy. We shall see....

The Top 8 Boys

Luke – Boring. It’s not ok just to sing a song well. You have to wow us. And he NEVER has. He should have down I’m Alright from Caddyshack. That would have been great!

David Archuleta – He can play the piano too?!? You are looking at the next American idol. The only thing stopping him is a meteorite. This song to me is one of those elevator songs that stick in your head. It wasn’t a wow but a very good performance. He has a great voice.

Daniel Noriega – So much attitude…so little talent. If he sang as much as he swings his hips, he might have a chance. TMTH! L-A-M-E. I’m going to stop there because I can feel my offensiveness coming on. I would have liked Careless Whispers from Wham, without the theatrics.

David – Uhhh..embarrassing moment? Being a an ex-stripper in a mainly male strip club? Is that one of them? Perhaps that Celion Dion performance you just did? How about that, David? He should have done Eye of the Tiger, Survivor. He could have sang the hell out of that and highlighted his voice.

Michael – Loved him. Although he does seem like he always imitating Jim Morrison. Or most alternative bands in the 80’s. He definitely is a through back to that time. I agreed 100% with Simon. Love him but haven’t really connected with him or his style. When I heard him, it was like…oh yeah! I remember him.

David Cook - OMG! All that and he chose such a terrible song, a terrible arrangement and a terrible performance. Experiment somewhere else. He could have just sang the song. It would have boring but at least it would have been true. I disagree with everyone on the planet about this. I can’t stand him.

Jason Castro - Did I say I hate people with dreadlocks? I did. Good. It was an ok performance. I am not sold on him yet. I guess I am still waiting for something else. Not sure what? He is getting better.

Chikizie - Perfect song for his voice. But boring. I would have done another Luther Vandross song. A well sung song. He should have done Tempted by Squeeze. Soulful yet youthful.


Top 2 – David and Michael.

Bottom 2 – Luke and Daniel Noriega – based on the performance. Going home? Luke and David Hernandez if scandal gets hot. Not sure….we shall see! C-ya.

Top 10 Girls

And I use the term "Top" lightly.

PLEASE!!! Pick the songs for the girls. And the boys. I am writing the intro at the end of the show which is a bad idea because I am so dejected now that its hard to write. On to the show…

Carly Smithson – She has a studio voice. I thought the performance was low energy. I am not sure where her nitch is? I think she is hard to market. She can sing but not sure if she is pop, rock….I think she will eventually turn into a Jewel type singer.

Syesha Mercado - Horrible film clip before her performance. I think the editors this season should be shot. Her song is WAY too slow. This is a song you can slow dance to and you would be standing still at this point. Beautiful voice but I wasn’t blown away by that performance. I think I heard a pitch problem in the middle.

Brooke White - Okay performance. Extremely safe. I think she should have done another Carly Simon song, definitely the right artist for you. This one picks up on the chorus and she stayed the same tempo. The low notes her voice practically disappeared. I wasn’t as excited as Simon because I agreed more with Randy that I didn’t think she brought anything new this week. Good not great. Good will get her through.

Ramiele Malubay – It started really good and then it just kind of fell flat? That was really strange. I think she has a great voice but her energy was way off on this one. The backup girls even took it down because they didn’t want to out sing her.

Kristy Lee Cook – Not sure if anyone didn’t know she was a tomboy. Again, she can sing but you will not remember this performance at all. Improvement but still just ok.

Amanda Overmyer – I think she was singing too fast at first. I think she lost confidence in the middle due to the beginning. I am not sure if it was the dancing or what but I did not like that at all. I get her but I don’t think this was a good performance for her. Or else I just totally don’t get it. Which could be true. Yeah…what Randy said.

Alaina Whitaker – Dated. Karaoke all the way.

Alexandrea Lexington - Bad song choice. This did not showcase her voice at all. She did ok but I think its because I like her. But I love Chicago and that was a butchered performance. I like the little things she did with it but far from her best performance. She should have chosen a more contemporary song from the 70’s.

Kady Malloy – Can you do Kady? How about you do Kady. She has an extraordinary voice but I am still not sure who she is. Stay off the stairs. AGAIN! Beautiful voice in the clip and terrible performance! She chooses a song in which she is barely singing!!! She is gone. She is an impersonator. That’s it. You will see her on MadTv.

Asia’H Epperson – That was terrible. I had to turn off the sound. I was afraid of that ending note. That was soooooo bad. What the F@$% was she thinking? To sing a song like that in hopes you can hit one note?

So top performances: It was tough because I thought they all sucked. Seriously. Brooke and Carly were better than the rest.

The bad performances: All the rest!!! Going home Kristy Lee Cook and Asia’h Epperson. Let’s just try to get through this an get to the Top 12 already. I don’t remember disliking this part this much in past seasons. Just watching the recaps….these were supposed to be the highlights of the performances!!!! Cya tomorrow…sigh!

Top 10 Boys


Let’s just jump right in. 70’s night, Top 10 boys!!!

Michael Johns - He seemed to be struggling. I guess he is entitled to a bad performance. This is his one. He just seemed off.

Jason Castro – I think he Is a cutie pie but the guitar playing was better than singing. I think he can sing but it was a safe song and really showed how weak his voice is, which you don’t want to show so early in the competition.

Luke Maynard – He can sing. But with such a sissy voice (I’m using the official terminology) he has to have more oompfff. Freddie Mercury had GREAT stage presence. Over the top at times but electric. Better this week but he needs to work on presence.

Robbie Carrico - Best performance so far. Not sure that’s saying a lot. It fit his style and his voice. But I am still not feeling the….star quality? He was singing the talking parts without much attitude. Good singer though.

Danny Noriega – Was that supposed to trick us? He was in a rock band but they kept showing us him and just one girl who was in the band. They also said “we broke up” meaning the band…or did it? Is Fox a little afraid of the sexuality of one of their most popular contestants? That was silly. His performance was b-o-r-i-n-g. You only sing those songs when you have to….not by choice!!!!

David Hernandez – He has a good voice. He may stay longer than I first predicted. He brought it home at the end. A little sharp but still good. He is one of the better ones.

Jason - He is not standing out at all. I feel Simon’s pain. Best ever? Where! Where! Where!

*Side Note: I think next year, they should assign them songs. Then it really is the best of the best. If they have good vocals but bad at sad choice, then tell them what to sing. Let’s see a real competition of vocals. The instruments might have seemed like a good idea, but lesson learned….not so good.

Chikezie (1 word) - Finally. A singer and stage performance. I can even get past that upper lip thing he has got going on. That was a great performance. I believe his best is still in there but definitely better than last week and best performance and voice of the night.

David Cook – Good guitar and good vocal. Don’t forget to sing more than perform. Once you make it to the big stage, you can take it over. Right now, just sing. He started to go a little off with the performance. But I thought it was ok. Hmmm…rude doesn’t equal charisma.

David Archuleta – Great choice. It was different but done so well that you didn’t compare it to the original. He is very, very talented. Good control of his voice, sweet tone and unique. That was a rewind performance.

The review of the singers was painful after hearing him!

Bottom Two: Luke Maynard, Jason Yeager and Robbie Carrico

Top Performances: David Archuleta, Chikezie and David Hernandez

Going home…Luke & Jason.

C-ya tomorrow for the girls!

Top 24 Results Show

There were only 2 good vocals on that train wreck of a group performance, rocker chick and the rocker guy. My Kenny Loggins guy was also good. Mr. Golly Gee Shusks looked extremely silly. He has got to grow up! But it’s over and on to the results.

Welcome to the results show.

Here are the 3 tips you need to watch the results show:

#1: Never go online after 6:00 p.m. on the night of the results. East Coast already knows and the results are splashed across Yahoo and MSN. You may be ok if you stick with Google….but be careful.

#2: Never watch in real time. If you don’t have a DVR yet, get one! Start watching it at least 30 minutes into the show. This will give you the opportunity to fast forward through all the fluff and watch the parts you want.

#3: The goodbye performances are always better than the performance that got the contestant voted off. I don’t know if it’s the nerves or what! But the goodbye performance is usually pretty good.

On to the results:

First Off: Leif Garret…er… Garrett Haley. That was quick! Bravo AI. Finally a quick goodbye. Wow! Did you see the other boys faces?!? They were shocked! That was great. Based on the performance he should be gone. I would have liked to see more of him, but he was not going to be the next AI.

Next: Amy Davis. That was clear. Her performance was painful. And she is the exception to rule #3.

Intermission for Paula’s single. Hmmm….she danced like there was a tomorrow. And tomorrow she was going to get checked in to a facility. Did anyone feel like they were watching Britney Spears on the MTV awards? The temp and energy was definitely low. Now she is 45 years old and a pill popping addict. So the performance fit when you put it under those lens. The song itself was not that bad. I can hear that mixed up at the club. The video had cool effects. But notice Ryan said we are about to see Paula dance…not sing? She sounds about the same as she did 20 years ago.

Back to the show:

Final Girl: Joann Borella. I think that was the right choice. She wasn’t what I thought she was going to be. Her brother (?) looked like he was going to jump off the balcony kick Simon’s butt. The other girls need to stop all the boo hooing. Be respectful and look sad, but don’t go overboard.

Final Guy: Colton Berry. Come on people! If they just threw the sister off…they weren’t gonna through out the brotha. That was not shocking at all. Colton was not that good and we were all shocked that he even made to this stage since he hadn’t had much camera time. I think America got it right.

So down to the Top 20. Everybody better bring it next week. This usually brings better performances because the threat seems so real. Until next week, C-ya!

Top 12 Girls


Tonight, the girls. I hope they can bring it. The Boys had a few good performances but I am really looking to be wowed tonight. I, unlike Simon, dislike when a contestant argues with him. It shows immaturity. Simon can be harsh, but behind it he is almost always right. Anyway without further adieu, the girls!

Kristy Lee Cook – Rescue Me - A very pretty girl but boring performance. It seemed too slow, low energy and she seemed to rely too much on the background singers on the chorus. Not a good start to the show.

Joann Borella – I Say A Little Prayer - I think that’s why I don’t like her. Because she is a big woman and I expect a strong, forceful voice. And she doesn’t. Wrong song choice. Song was too much for her. I prefer Wayne Brady’s version. Simon was 100% right.

*Side note – Simon was 100% right to basically chastise the contestants. They are throwing this opportunity away. I think Simon is getting mad because this is “The best contestants ever!” and right now they are sucking big time. The good ones seemed to be the exception not the rule.

Alaina Whitaker – More Today Than Yesterday - She was a little annoying but she was a nice change from the first 2 performances. I liked her. Her voice had kind of a sharp tone to it, but not necessarily flat.

Amanda Overmeyer – Baby Please Don’t Go - Terrible song. Unique? Yes! But still a bad song to showcase her singing voice. It was no more than a down home skat. I get the blues. It literally was a 1 lyric song. 1 lyric song. 1 lyric song. I like her. I want her to stay. I hope her next performance is actually singing.

Amy Davis – Where the Boys Are - That was painful. I am not sure any of this song is on key! This makes me angry that they let that chick go home that was up with Joann the plus-size model. She was better than this! My dog’s ears stood up.

Brooke White – So Happy Together - I like her a lot. She started rough. It’s tough because most of the song is basically a cappella. This was a challenge. She did just ok but I like really like her. I’m okay that she is bright and sunny. She is sort of like Rocky Balboa in Rocky II. He was a south paw (left handed) and learned to fight right handed. He basically won the big fight because he caught Apollo Creed off guard. Brooke is nice and sweet. She’s gonna bust out with a sultry, sexy song and blow everyone else away!

Alexandra Lexington – Spinning Wheel – They need to stay off the stairs. I think she did a great job. I didn’t think she had much of a voice but she was good. I am not sure if she had a cold, because she could sing but it wasn’t strong. I liked when Bo did this and hers was okay. Vocals were not great but they hinted that they could be.

Kady Malow – A Groovy Kind of Love – I definitely heard a little Celine Dion in her voice. Terrible song, again. But her voice is beautiful. She is talented. She is too young to be sounding so old.

**Side not – Simon was totally sensitive this year during the auditions. Was it too much for him?!? He is being a straight a**hole. I agree with his opinions but he can be nicer. Less is more!

Asia’d Epperson – Piece of My Heart - Started off rough. Terrible song choice for her voice. She has such a deep voice, she should pick songs that match her lower register. I like the fact that she was enthusiastic but definitely not a wow performance.

Ramiele Malubay – You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me - Song is too big for her. I thought she was going to do great since she picked it. Do you remember when Nadia Turner season 4 did this? This couldn’t touch that. But she has a pretty voice. Bad song choice for her. I don’t agree with the judges at all. But I definitely think her presence in the competition is needed.

Syesha Mercado – Tobacco Road - She started slow. I thought she should have really done the performance of her life. She said she was going to and it was too subdued. She has a great voice. She seemed to focus too much on the vocals not enough on the stage presence. That is my suggestion. She is really good.

Carly Smithson – The Shadow of Your Smile – She is my favorite. So it pains me that her performance was good, not great. It is hard to dress up a Barbara Streisand song because she is understated. I love her voice. She added something at the end but I would have liked to have heard it throughout. I don’t agree it’s the best so far but she is still my favorite because it has such a beautiful texture. I agree with Simon. She can do better and there is an expectation that she do better.

So the top performances where Syesha, Alexandra, Brooke, Alaina.

The bottom performances Amy, Joann, Kristy.

Going home: It should be Amy and Kristy. I didn’t vote so I have no right to pout tomorrow if my favs are voted off. Hour elimination show which is way too long. Plan for more stupid games, like last year from Ryan. I hope its not too painful. C-ya tomorrow!

Top 12 Boys


Let me start by saying it sucks ass that they are starting theme night so early. I think it’s a way to knock off some contestants earlier in the season. If contestants get to choose what they sing, then they pick easy songs and stay around much longer than they should. But I have to tell you….I hate theme nights. We will be getting 60’s night tonight, and no doubt show tunes, Miami sound, country and disco. This is when this really becomes “American Karaoke”.

First up, the boys.

David Hernandez – In the Midnight Hour – Nice arrangement. He was much better than I remember. Will this performance stand up at the end of the night? Not sure. But so far, a nice, easy start to the night.

Chikezie Eze – More Today Than Yesterday - What the hell are you wearing? What the hell are you singing? He needs to be young. He has the voice but wrong song choice and wardrobe. Don’t talk back!!! Black folks and orange do not mix. I’m the only one allowed to say it and I’m saying it. Simon was 100% right. You can do 60’s night and not be 60 years old. Just take the feedback, learn from it. Don’t argue.

David Cook – Happy Together – Shouting too much. I am not sure if because the music is going super fast and playing too loud. Good stage performance. I am willing to give him a pass for this song. Nice ending. He even seemed shocked and out of breath. I did like that version.

**Note: Again, I hate theme night! I don’t think its fair because we don’t know these guys and they are starting us with poor and bland performances.

Jason Yeager - Moon River – Boring. Randy gave good advice. He seemed bored and lost track. Stop booing Simon. He is right. Minus the low blows. Ryan is an ass. “How does it feel to be punched in the gut?” Well Ryan, I guess it’s similar to when women (or men) laugh at your small penis. I cannot stand Seacrest!!!! But it wouldn’t be AI without him.

Robbie Carrico – One is the Loneliest Number - Perfect song choice. Ok performance. He doesn’t have a strong voice. I remember Chris Daughtry and he is no Daughtry. But it was a nice performance.

David Archuleta – Shop Around – Not sure if this song was too low for him. But best performance of the night. He searched for some keys in the song, but good song choice he fit it well. It was a challenging song for him and he should get points for that. I guess I can see why the judges like him a lot. Okay, the golly gee is going to start getting on my nerves.

Danny Noriega – Jailhouse Rock - Too much swagger can be too much. But he has a absolutely fabulous voice! It was WAY over the top. But you will remember it and it was better than Moon River and Happy Together. I look forward to seeing him more subdued and just sing. I agree with Simon. It was fun but not the best representation of the show. Now his sass was in a fun way.

Luke Menard – Everybody’s Talking to Me - I love Kenny Loggins. That is what he most reminded me of. But in comparison, it makes you realize how bad the performance was. I like falsetto style, but you also have to have personality and strength. He had neither. I said Kenny Loggins first Paula!

Colton Berry – Suspicious Mind – Randy was struggling to say something positive. So was Paula. Simon won’t even try. He is being painfully honest. And Paula and Ryan are making it worse by challenging Simon.

Garrett Haley – Breaking Up Is Hard To Do - His audition was terrible. I now know why they didn’t feature him. I was most surprised that he had facial hair in the close up. He had a nicer voice than I thought. I think a slow song was good for him. I think he could have put more into it. When it was time to bring it home, he…left it at the store. Perfect opportunity wasted. He should stay though.

**Note: This is American Idols fault. The show still has 30 minutes left and 2 contestants. Plan on more talking by the judges.

Jason Castro – Daydream - Pretty eyes. I wasn’t sold on him, but I like him. I am not sold on the guitar. I guess that means tomorrow Blondie is going to play the piano? I think it was a nice, safe performance.

Michael Johns – Light My Fire – Of course the perfect song for him. It fit his style well. I think he was a little off tune on some notes but good performance. I agreed with Simon that it was not his best but good for the first night.

We made it through the first night. I am looking forward to the girls. This was a tough one. I hope the boys pick better songs next week no matter what the theme is.

Top Performances: David A., Danny, Jason and Michael. I would even put David H. in there.

Bottom Performances: Chikezie, Luke, David C.

Going home – I think it will be Luke because I don’t think anyone is going to go out of there way to vote for him and David C. I think folks will vote for Colton and Robbie, even though they were just okay.

Top 24 Announcement




Ok Ryan. Enough with the hype. Let’s get too it.

I am going to leave this part for the No’s. See list below for the Yes’s.

The first boy with the yellow cap, his eyes were looking crazy when he was singing. I am amazed he even thought he had a chance. How can they have cut some of the other people before him?

I liked Buck Smith. I was surprised he didn’t make it.

Josiah Leming - Waaaahhh! I am so very, very happy that he was booted off. I am glad he has egg on his face in front of the family he ditched and shows people that you can’t be too cocky. That’s why he is living in a car. He has talent, don’t get me wrong. But a poor attitude can destroy it.

Kyle Ensley - Whew! That was close! I almost thought they passed him through. He would have been tough to get rid of (aka Sanjaya). Justice has been served. The first time I totally disagree with Simon. This is ultimately a singing competition and folks aren’t nice. He is a sweet kid and they would have chewed him up and spit him out (remember the red-headed kid and death threats?). He will do just fine.

Cardin McKinney - I figured out why I like her. She reminds me of Kate from Lost. She is not that great of a singer. She has the look though. It may have been a mistake, but I am okay. Last year I was ticked with the final 2 choices and the girl that got through. I hope they don’t regret it.

I was pretty teary this episode. This show is tough.

Boys
1. David Cook – I liked him ok. I want to see more from him.
2. David Archuleta – I think he is ok. Not sure why the judges love himself so much. He has GOT to control his breathing.
3. Danny Noriega – He is so very, very talented. I just hope his facial expressions and his theatrics don’t get in the way of really hearing his voice. I am glad he made it.
4. Jason Castro – No idea about him
5. Luke Menard – No idea about him
6. Michael Johns – I like him. Maybe it’s the accent. I’m a sucker for it. And square teeth. Don’t ask.
7. Robbie Carrico – I liked him…enough.
8. Garrett Haley – No idea.
9. Chikezie Eze – I loved him. Cute teddy bear.
10. Jason Yeager – he was ok. I just remember her from his hair color.
11. David Hernandez – He was a mistake. Not terrible but he shouldn’t have made it. He will be off by week 2.
12. Colton Berry – I am so happy he made it over Kyle. I don’t remember his performance, but best of luck.

Girls
1. Carly Smithson – Love her!!! I am so rooting for her! All the way! And she’s from San Diego. Cool.
2. Amanda Overmeyer – I liked her. She seemed pretty reserved but I will assume that she was happy.
3. Kristy Lee Cook – She was ok. I am not sure I will remember her after a few weeks.
4. Brooke White – I like her personality. I think she is talented and makes a good addition to this season.
5. Alexandra Lexington – No idea about her.
6. Ramiele Malubay – I think she was ok. I just remember her dad.
7. Syesha Mercado – She was way too good not to make it through. Talented and really cute.
8. Kady Malow – No idea about her
9. Amy Davis – No idea.
10. Alaina Whitaker – No idea.
11. Asia’d Epperson – Hell to pay if she didn’t make it through.
12. Joann Borella – I am not a fan. She is a pretty girl and okay in some of her songs. But I don’t like the tone. But with those 2 in the end, I think she deserved to go through.


I am looking forward to the performances. I think they got a great group this year. Finally. Brining it back to the glory days of AI! C-ya next week!

Hollywood Week



This picture says it all! 164 contestants, looking for 50. No one cut in first 2 days – interesting. I like this format. I feel it gives several people another chance to shine as well as not torture the good ones. First up….

Karly – blonde curly haired girl - I’m not sure I liked her. It was different and that’s good. I think it was because she was so nervous and played the piano better than she sang the song. I want her without accompaniment.

Leo – I really liked him on audition round – but he was bad the first round. I hope he brings it. He seemed to have a really positive attitude.

I agree with Simon that you would think the instrument would help but it was murder. Did they think this would give them credibility? They lost some! Jake and drums. Terrible all the way around.

“The Competition is so stiff”. Well, where are they?!? I am tired of the hype. Show us how hard it is for the judges to make their decision. I haven’t seen the Top 24 yet.

Amanda – - the rocker - I like her but I am afraid she will sound the same no matter what she sings. I am interested to see her range. But it was a good performance. Definitely seems like an older and more mature group so far.

Caleb – should have never been there. That accent! I like his personality. But it is a singing contest. He can learn to cover it with training. But the competition is now. You should be embarrassed Paula from bringing him there to make a fool out of him.

Josiah – teen runaway – I didn’t like him. I think it was because he was a runaway. But I think he did well, very Beatles like. So we shall see how far he will go!

Danny – I was glad he did well again. Even though he was a little exaggerated. He can sing.

Carly – Irish girl - very sultry voice. I like her more and more.

Kyle – Mr. Republican - Do they remember Sanjaya?!? OMG! He could make it to the end with stupid people voting. Paula is a fool.

Perrie – I liked him in the audition and I was surprised he sang Bryon Adams. I think an effort to show versatility but it didn’t work. I liked him a lot better in his 30 seconds. He is talented.

Amy – she was too annoying to go through. I think she has talent, but it’s too soon for her.

Jeffrey – Now I know its Black History Month but a negro spiritual may not be the best choice. I was surprised he made it through. I don’t think we will be seeing him in the end.

I do like the way this is structured. Very cutthroat.

David – I liked the tone of his voice. I think he adds to the competition. It was a little boring performance and his breathing was distracting. But I think he is good.

Kyle – can he go home now? Not a bad kid but not right for this competition. That was a sympathy vote.

Jeffrey – buh bye.

Syesha – She brought it.

Michael – I like him a lot. Talented and sexy!

I l-o-v-e Carly. I think she makes this season so very good.

Asia – I didn’t like her as much but she is definitely pop. I can see her doing an album tomorrow. It was too nasal for me.

Hallelujah – Brooke is gone. Paula finally did something right! And Josiah – can’t stand him. “They didn’t do it the way I wanted them too.” *sshole! He is not a great guy!!!!! If he makes it to the Top 24, I will all I can to get him out!

I know that online the 24 have already been revealed but I am waiting for tomorrow’s reveal.

Favorite line: “Good luck. It’s do or die.” The look on the contestant’s faces was priceless. C-ya tomorrow.

Audition Compilation Show


OMG!!! When the twins mentioned the Brittenum Twins I thought it was a reference to past seasons. But they had the nerve to audition this year....again!!!! Thankfully they didn't make it through or even get air time. If you don't know who they are, be grateful. They were the most spoiled, entitled, criminal jokes that every came across the stage. They were eventually booted during Hollywood. They were really hated contestants.

Anyway, on with the show! I am just glad this is the last one of these. I think this was WAY too much auditions.

Amy – Blue Bayou. Was not good at all. Terrible song, she was struggling. They voted on her breasts. Period.

Anytime you walk in and say yeah baby yeah. Not a good thing. Is this American Rap? Here we go. Ok…just go.

FINALLY!!! Someone hears how bad someone is. I loved the dog.

I wanna be a plus-size model! I can just invade the Mac Cosmetic counter and I can be her! I saw that weave at FanMart. I don’t have the voice….but that’s ok. She had a good voice but I am not sure that I liked her. She may grow on me.

I LOVED the Dolly Parton girl. She was nice and sweet and a really good sport. She went back, learned the song and I thought knocked it out tha park. Good for her!

Simon not knowing how to hold a dust pan was classic!

I loved Chikizie and his dimples.

Favorite line: “Does he have a returns policy? If I was giving that, I’d give it back. Or I’d lose it.”

On to Hollywood week, yippee!!! C-ya!

Atlanta Auditions


I’m sick so this will be brief.

Dead Daddy Girl – The MINUTE she said she was singing “How Do I Live Without You”, by LeAnn Rhimes….not fair! I was choked up fo’ sho!

I liked the rocker girl although I think you can find girls like her in a good karaoke bar. But I still liked her.

Car Boy - I came from nothing? Nothing?!? You’re a runaway, high school drop-out. Take your butt home and go get your GED fool!

Other than that – no one else really stood out

Favorite line: “I just said doo doo American Idol.” Miss Pageant WAS extremely annoying.

Boring night. C-ya tomorrow. Yawn!

Miami Audtions


Welcome to Miami!!!

They did it again. Back story, girl works at a Carnicera (meat market). She was terrible!
“You sound like you are eating when you sing.” I loved that!

I hate when they waste a spot. Caleb! Sure…you can lose a thick accent in a few weeks. He will be gone the first day in Hollywood.

“You became more attractive when you sang.” I agreed with Simon. The pin curls and gold belt was not working for me. She is someone who will definitely excel with the help of a stylist…the entire AI machine.

Another daddy issue girl?!? Dad graduated from rehab program?!? Damn!!! This is too much. Do they have to have one each program?

Julie the American Junior. How do I put this…Twit! ‘nuff said. One more thing, she has to stop watching High School Musical over and over again.

That’s it for tonight.

Favorite line: Use both doors.

(when the 2 plus size girls were leaving the room. Simon typically says “use other door”)

Omaha Auditions


More auditions. This time in Nebraska. Gotta love them.

First up….let me just say, never, ever, ever do a Paula Abdul song. Ever.
Second. Don’t do a Kelly Clarkson song. Never, ever, ever. Ever. Even his voice was annoying. Simon was really nice. Unlike me. I have no tolerance for this. I want to hear singers. Silly me.

The thing I like about this year they show people and you think they are going to be good and then they’re not. You just can’t tell. Of course once you hear them speak you know. Jason Rich is a perfect example. They were nice to let him though. I didn’t think he was good enough. But that’s the beauty…you just never know!

Why was Sara even there? A pure waste of time. Although that is my all time favorite laugh of all time (taken from Lieutenant Dan from Forest Gump). I’m going to practice that (Hear laugh from Forrest Gump below).

I loved Samantha. Great smile, nice voice. My favorite so far. Now here comes bad Joanna. They are going to destroy her in Hollywood. That sweet little twisty girl is going to be long gone soon. They never stay sweet.

Now as I sit here and that I think about it, they are giving more back story to the people that aren’t making it through. The good singers we know very little about. I would say its running 50/50. I want to hear more good singers!!!

Ryan as a judge was terrible. They really need the chemistry. It was even ok with Paula not there. She got there and started acting as loopy as usual.

The girl with daddy issues…ok...even I got a little teary eyed. This show pulls on your heart strings. Damn them!! She was good but for now, just a really good copy of someone else.

I agreed with Simon. The rocker was wordy! Johnnnee use to worrkk onn thee docks. It was slow and over enunciated. But he is a good singer.

I was waiting for the little bubble to show up above Paula once she hiccupped. Don’t gulp your booze, Paula! Who would’ve thought the hiccup was better than that guy’s performance.

I loved Leo Marshall. I am going to follow him and….who was that girl I liked?!? See. That is the problem with the auditions. I love them and then forget them. I can’t wait for Hollywood week.

Speaking of that, just a quick update on the schedule: this week and next week are more auditions. Feb 12th & 13th is Hollywood week. The following week the top 24 perform, boys then girls and we start voting!

Favorite line: You disgusting, little, pig. – say in thick disgusted English accent.

C-ya tomorrow!

Episode $#%##@ - I don't remember anymore!


This is American Idol. Another day…another round of bad auditions.

First up - unemployed afro puff. He is a perfect example of someone who is not as good as he thinks he is. Nowhere close. Time to find a real j-o-b.

Fix your strap!! Just slide it back on your shoulder. Right there! If you are OCD like me….you know exactly what I’m talking about!

Simon was really, really sweet with that brother and sister team. My dog was howling when she hit those note. But it was really sweet of him. That’s what makes this show so great. Everyone in a while…humanity!

Now I liked Aretha (Big Blue). But you had to not look at her. She was extreme. That was similar to what my hair looked like when I left the beauty shop. Of course when I came in today someone asked if I had been running. No *sshole! It’s hard to recreate what the beautician does! But I digress…. She did switch keys and mess up the lyrics. But I chalked that up to nerves. They didn’t like her from jump street. I wouldn’t have included her on the show because it was just awkward.

This city’s auditions are so painful! But look on the bright side…I may find my true love of the LOST message boards.

Favorite lines: I wouldn’t have been surprised if he broke out a magic trick in the middle of that.

PS. I KNOW I'm skimping on the reviews. But they are all so forgetable at the point. I mean look at my post last week. Not San Diego, but last Wednesday. See that person? Do you even remember what song they sung? Case and point. Good night!

San Diego Episode



Again an abbreviated review until Hollywood.

San Diego!!! The second time this week we are on the national stage (let's not talk about Sunday...I am still a little bummed). I hope we represent because I never thought of San Diego as being a place that has good singers???

Simon, as always, was right about Tatiana. She was the first girl and not as good as she thought she was. I know in future clips she will show herself to be obnoxious. It's hard to hide.

Poppy=San Diego. I liked the single dad. Of course he is raising a little thug...but at least he's raising him. Of course that young woman that was with him was grandma. Apple doesn't fall far from the tree!

The Aussie guy was good.. Where are these people in San Diego?!?

Mariah Carey fan…you know it was going to be bad! Even when she was humming it was even bad! Hummphr. BUT she was the first to get that she is the butt of the joke. Finally!!!

Throat guy was not good enough for the competition. He was just ok. Sympathy! He reminded me of “Trachie” from season 4 (Anthony Federov).

I really liked the last Ireland girl. 37 going to Hollywood!! San Diego got talent!

Favorite Line: I’m 'bout to be big. That says it all. C-ya!

Week One - Season 7




Day One:

I am broken and I should be the next American Idol. The sad sacks (overweight mom (no way. No, no, no, no way you're going to Hollywood), kid with leg braces (mom was talented) and Star Wars girl (she could sing but way too weird); make this show what it is: Great TV!

Welcome to American Idol! So far this season has been great! I love knowing more about the contestants and the judges are definitely nicer. Simon has been the right amount of mean. I’m not going to go into depth about the performances at this point because it’s just too many and too soon. I have just always wondered how friends can let friends audition for American Idol? ESPECIALLY when they know damn well they can’t sing! I think friends that come to the audition should be interviewed too. Unfortunately they would probably be cursing out the camera like the crazies do in their exit video.

All I know as I am psyched!

Favorite line: If you were Columbo, I would Peter Faulk you.

See ya tomorrow!

Day Two:

Beautiful disaster. How do singers pick songs that directly describe how bad they are?!?

Over singing seems to be popular. Simon’s facial expressions have been great. The personal stories (virginity key (who sucked), nail clippings (who was good), Kyra Sedgewick look-alike (car victim-sounded if she was hit by a car DURING the audition), they make it all worth giving up 4 hours of my life a week (5 with blog!).

I liked the Britney impersonator girl (of course Britney cannot sound nearly that well!). You have to listen to her without looking at her because she is stunning. On that note, where the men at! It seems like it may be a lopsided season. Spoke too soon. Just heard the young republican. I too hope he doesn’t pull a Clay Aiken. I liked him he was cute.

Favorite line: It’s a tie!
1) I would sing so well some time, he would say, like I hate you. Not like, you sing so good I hate you. But like, I really hate you.
2) Well they say love is deaf. Love is blind, Simon.

Until next week....cya!