Country Music Week

Michael – Good job. I thought it was ok for a country song. All these performances are going to be ok. I hate when the contestants talk back.

Allison – I like her but she oversang the song. I think she also sang it a beat too slow? I didn’t like it as much as the judges. Uh oh…Paula made sense! Did they change her meds? I think because she is such a strong singer, she can begin to show different sides of her ability.

Kris – I just can’t stand the little Monchichi. I like this song since Adele re-did it. I didn’t know it was a country song. I don’t like the country version. But he did a good job. Damn him!

Lil Rounds – She can sing but this was such a so-what performance. I wont remember this by the end of the show. All black folks are supposed to sing Whitney’s Dolly Parton song. I thought that was written in the Idol contract?

Adam – I like this version. This is the way to take a song and make it yours. Of course, Johnny Cash just rolled out of his casket…but I liked it. It was young, and fresh and hot…but not country. I agree with Simon that it was a little overindulgent. I think tonight Adam and Allison are overestimating their appeal.

Scott – Um…Travis…your supposed to GIVE them advice. The piano covers his singing. He was pretty flat the entire song. This performance reminded me of Kris’ performance….just not as good. All his songs are sounding the same to me.

Alexis – I never liked this song when sung by someone other than Dolly. But she did sing well. I think her inflections were a little off and the way they chopped the song was criminal. Ha – Randy agreed.

Danny – It was good. He didn’t make it his own, but it was a solid performance as he always does. I agreed with New Judge and Randy…he did better on the chorus than the lyrics. Start slow…but sing with emotion all the way through.

Anoop – Uh oh. Sleeper. Go Annop…A-Dog! Beautiful. Reminding folks why he’s there. Good job. Randy was right, good arrangement.

Meghan - She can sing. And it’s unique. But she has zero stage performance. If they can work with her…it might be better. I thought it worked for her.

Matt – Loving me some Matt! He is so good. That last note wasn’t there. But it was still a great performance.

Best of the night: Matt, Danny, Anoop. Worst: Scott, Lil Rounds and Alexis. 1 is going home...I am saying...I don't know! I want it to be Michael or Meghan...but I think they are here to stay. Based on people who vote, I am going to say Lil Rounds. We shall see...