Top 36 - Second Group

Let’s just get to the show! Join us for the live chat every week during the show.


Jasmine – Head Over Water – Damn! Just terrible! She had a chance and she blew it. Just like Stephen. Too bad, I liked her.




Matt – Viva La Vida – Just a bad copy of the sing. A really poor one. Song choice is sooo important! I liked him before in the auditions. He is talented. But bad song choice has sunk his chances.


Janine - This Love Has Taken Control of Me - so what performance. Bad song choice again. No one knew her before, to one remembers her now. She blew it.




Nick/Norman – And I’m Telling You - Brought it, cooked it…served it hot! I love him. I think he should be serious if he makes it through. He is a good singer when he is serious. But I have no idea what his niche is?!?


Allison – Alone - Her appearance throws me off. Bad red hair, thick girl, extreme features. But great voice. Especially for 16 year old. She should go far because she is talented.



Kris – Man in Mirror – Really nice, mellow performance. Nervous but a pleasant performance. But “just good” is not going to win this competition.




Meghan - Put Your Records On – She looked weird moving around. Shaking. Strange. Bad outfit. Vocals were ok. I do think she is marketable.




Matt – If You Can Only See – Great voice. No stage presence. Not sure how that will work out. Simon was right…boring, low energy, didn’t feel right. But good voice.




Jesse – Bette Davis Eyes – How about a song from the last 5 years? 10 years? 20 years? 30 years?!? That song was done in 1974. It was simple and easy. She looked good. She can sing. But not the next Idol.


Kai – What Becomes of the Brokenhearted - Boring song. Good voice. Reminded me of Al Jarreau. It’s young girls voting, his song choice will not appeal to them. Maybe wild card.



Mishavonna - Drops of Jupiter – Song was just ok. Not memberable. I think a better song would have ensured her spot. I would have had her do an Alanis Morrisette song.


Adam – Satisfaction – He was like Nick/Norman…but serious. I like his voice. Reminds me of Steve Perry. Or any hairband from the 80’s. He would be good doing Guns and Roses. I liked it. Did Randy just compare him to Twilight’s Robert Pattinson. Blasphemy, dog!

When you watch the recap…you see how bad it really was tonight. I think Allison is through for the girls, Adam for the boys, the 3rd person is Norman/Nick. The bald Matt will be given another chance by the judges in the wild card round. This is tough because so many favorites are performing poorly due to song choice. Next year, their songs should be picked for them in the early rounds (not just at the end when Clive Davis is on the show).

Let’s see if I’m right about my picks! C-ya tomorrow.

Top 36 - First Group

Join us during showtime and chat with us in the Shoutbox to the left! We had 6 people last week...let's get to 10!!

So...on with the show!


Jackie – A Little Less Conversation – Terrible! This was your one shot and this what you came up with?!? The clothes and the Playboy bunny necklace was dated. This is a singing competition. So the best vocal is what we are looking for.


Ricky – A Song For You – Really good performance. I liked him. I agreed with Simon that he has to come away from the nice guy persona. But great job on that song. http://www.rickey.org/?p=11805




Alexis – I Never Loved A Man - I loved you – I would have picked a better song for her. I think that performance should have been saved for latter. I think she should have done an Alicia Keyes song. More up-to-date.



Brent - Hicktown – I think we are done with Country singers. He can sing, but so what! Not the next Idol. Thanks for playing.



Stevie – You Belong To Me - Terrible!!! She was off key most of the song. Dumb Song. Nervous. Bad, bad, bad.



Anoop – Angel of Mine – Bad song choice!!!!! I liked him so much during the auditions. Too safe. He is going home.



Casey – Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic – Terrible. Bad. Train wreck. Pleas stop.




Michael – I Don’t Want To Be – Bo Bice did this song waaay better. I wasn’t feeling this performance. Not great…just ok. He can do better.




Ann Marie – Natural Woman – She was really nervous. I think she was just good. Bad notes. Song was bigger than her.



Stephen – Rock With You – Bad lounge act!!! Big disappointment.




Tatianna – Saving All My Love For You – Not bad. Just boring. She’s got pipes.




Danny – Hero – He did a great job! He knocked it out of the park. I was worried about the song. But he did great. http://www.rickey.org/?p=11841



My guess at the vote is that Danny will make it for the boys, Alexis for the girls. Tatianna will be the next highest vote getter. I think the judges will bring back Ricky as the wild card at the end of the season. Or they should. They might surprise me and give Michael another chance. I thought Ricky was better than Michael…but who knows! We shall see tomorrow. Remember to vote!!! Until tomorrow…c-ya!

Hollywood Week – Part IV

***note** - the chat is working. I paid the whopping $6.00 to get unlimited posting for the next few months. So join us here on Tuesday @ 8:00p.m.!

So all this time they were basically showing us who is going to be our Top 36 contestants. I tried to get pictures of each one...but there were so many! Some I didn't even know who they were. They showed us some bad people and the Top 36 instead of good singers in general from each audition. I blame it on the editing!

The Good:

I am glad some of my show favorites made it through. Anoop, both Danny's, Stephen, Matt, Scott. I was thrilled that Norman/Nick made it through. He may be a fool but he is a GREAT singer. I so don't care about the girls. I only know Jasmine, Lil Rounds, Joanna (who was disqualified after the background check), and Anna Marie. But we will eventually grow to know and love all of them as we have in past seasons.

The Bad:

I can't stand Von and am annoyed he got through. Tatianna is a piece of work! She has a great singing voice but her personality ruins it. That is why she will never make it big, with or without this show. Just terrible. The sing-offs made it more exciting to watch but it was a pretty cold-blooded way to go out. Also as I was watching it, I was counting, so the big "You're both in!" to Matt and Brian was stupid. There were 2 spots left. Of course they were both in!

So they will perform in groups of 12 over the next 3 weeks. The top girl and the top boy and the next highest vote getter boy or girl moves forward. So for each group of 12, only 3 make it. This is pretty cut throat to get 1 chance and then you are out. It could just be that the people in your group are more liked, not that you didn't have the talent to stay. They brought back the wild card round where the judges get to bring back 3 of the contestants that are eliminated (1 I’m assuming from each week). That gives us our Top12, move to the Kodak Theatre and then the person with the lowest votes each week is eliminated for the next 12 weeks until the finale!

I will be voting next week to keep Norman in….but he is in the group with Stephen, Anoop and Brian. Tough call! We shall see. Until next week…c-ya!

Hollywood Week – Part III

This is just going to be a summary.

I think there are a lot more good boys this year than girls. I feel like they have to cut some good guys just to have the numbers balance out. There is a Top 36 now instead of Top 24. This is the rules:

In season eight, the semifinals will go back to the basic form of the first three seasons. There will be thirty-six semifinalists who are then divided into three semifinal groups. The three finalists with the highest number of America's votes, one male, one female and the next top vote getter, will advance to the finals. The Wildcard round will also return with the judges choosing three previously eliminated contestants to advance to the finals.

Huh?!? I guess I will understand what that means soon enough!

Here is my pick for the Top 24 (I haven’t seen enough of the group to pick 6 more of each!)

Top 12 Boys:
Danny, Danny, Jamar, Stephen, Matt, Scott, Anoop, Norman, Ju’Not, Kai, Michael, Matt

Top 12 Girls:
Stevie, Alexis, Joanna, Jasmine, Kendall, Anne Marie, Lil Rounds, Kristin, Arianna, Tatianna (she is off the chain!)

I could only think of 10 girls….and Tatianna would be voted off first week!

I would like to see more of the contestants so its good that there are 36 this year. Since I only really know about 25-26 of them really well.

Come join us on the website tomorrow to chat!!!! I will post the pictures of all of the Top 36 tomorrow. Until then…c-ya!

Hollywood Week – Part II

Big ups to JH and WMD for joining me on the AI chat tonight. It’s nice to be able to discuss the show while it’s going on. Anyway…on with the show!

I hate the group round because this is where most make fools of themselves. Either by not getting along, not working together or egos. The video camera is relentless! Don’t forget the lyrics.

Tatiana’s Group – I would kick her butt. That’s why there is an age limit. Because an older person wouldn’t take all that drama.


Team Compromise – What are they arguing about?!? Red Hair can study on her own! Just practice your part!





Bikini Girl’s Group – We knew she was going to be drama. They have to baby her.




Rose’s Group – Fighting already. Rose is going to lose this battle.


The Performances:


White Chocolate – Good performance. I don’t remember any of the people as individuals?!? The girl didn’t even sing, only rapped?!?


Julissa’s group – They were ALL terrible. Nick and Jorge were in the group and Nick/Norman’s first time serious and they didn’t even show him!





Emily’s Group – The group was terrible but she should have been put through. The judges made a mistake with that. That boy with his crazy eyes sucked!



Danny’s Group – I loved all of them. I still like Jamar more than Danny.








Other Danny’s Group – I loved Danny. He is my dark horse in this competition.



Bikini Girl & Rose’s Group – All the crap she talked and Rose went up there and made a fool of herself on her own. It wasn’t the group. It was the individuals. Lauren wasn’t terrible but really not going to make it much further. Jasmine is the only one who deserved it. I'm just glad Bikini Girl is gone!





Tatiana’s Group – All over the place….what??? She is soooo over the top. I can't believe they all made it through.



Red Hair Girl Group – I don’t think Nathaniel should have made it through. At least Nancy admitted that she let herself down by getting into all the mind games and drama.

Emily, Osmund boy, Rose all out. I liked them! It’s cut throat time.

My dvr cut off the preview for next week. It should be just as good. I hope more of you join us on the AI chat! So until next week….c-ya!

Hollywood Week - Part I

147 contestants, they are cutting about 40 people today. That’s rough. Perhaps it will be painless…but I bet not! I like the idea of AI Boot camp. I think they can weed out some people that should leave early.

Let’s begin:


Lil Rounds – 1st girl was not good. They keep referring to her as really good…but I didn’t think so. I think she was shouting. I will give her another chance to impress me.




Dennis – terrible singing, lips, ugly, bye bye. Embarrassing himself, that’s nice.




Anoop – I liked him. I think a middle eastern dude is a nice addition to the competition. And yes… it does start matter the race, gender, even hometown of the contestant becomes important.



Jasmine – She was good. Way better than Lil. Still can’t believe she’s 16.




Rose – She reminded me of Brooke from last year. Okay…but not great. She is a lounge singer at best. Talented…but not the next American Idol.




Stephen – He reminded me of John Legend and Brian McKnight. He definitely has a voice that is going to be recorded.




Jorge – too much shouting…but a nice voice. Girls are going to go crazy for that accent.




Von – I thought he was too young to begin with. Much too High School Musical. He blew it. Once more mistake and he is out.




Nick aka Norman – Loved him…and I hope he does well. I will do ANYTHING if he makes it!!! I will vote for him week, after week, after week, after week.



Jackie – I like her. But I don’t think she will go super far because her voice is very rocker. But not like David Cook who could change arrangements and make them is own.


Jamar – I liked him. Very smooth, silky voice. Danny, his buddy, was just okay. I love Kiss From A Rose but he struggled in the beginning. He got stronger as he went.


Katrina – The boys don’t really care what she sounds like. She is terrible. Put her through so me and millions of women can dog her week after week and call her a slut. I look forward to making her cry.


Emily – terrible song choice. If the experts tell you what to do…why do something different?!?



I would have liked to have heard more singing. The show really has become too much fluff. Do they think we can’t notice?!? More commercials than the Super Bowl. I do like this part of the competition and group performance is notoriously gruesome. People goofing off instead of practicing, forgetting the lyrics and just being all around bad! I can’t wait!

Until tomorrow….c-ya!