New York City & San Juan Auditions

New York Auditions

The good:




Melinda-I was waiting for a wardrobe malfunction. Why the hell would she want to go to Hollywood?!? Worst place for her.





Jackie – I didn’t like her for this competition. Again, I don’t think she can conform into a pop star. And that is what this is about.



Nick – I LOVED HIM!!!!!!!! He was great. Why did Simon keep calling him Norman?!? That was the best audition ever. He was talented and hilarious. Ryan did a double take when he made it through. That was worth it! I typically hate it when they let fools through…but he was worth it!

The bad:


African Girl-No, No, No, no way is right! But Simon was really sincere and it was cool how he called her boss.




Next dude playing air guitar with a boom box! Too funny.




Alexis - She was insane. Now insane in silver. But still insane!



San Juan Auditions


The good:

Jorge – he was great! He has a future here in the States. No matter what happens with AI, you will be hearing from him again.

Monique – Really sweet voice. I usually hate precocious kids, but her brother was cute too.

Patricia – I thought she was good, but a hard song. Whitney is never easy…not even early 80’s Whitney. I agreed with Simon.

The bad:

Jennifer-I didn’t think she was that bad. I think they should have just said that you are big and loud and we don’t like you.


Auditions over!!!

The format is really different this year. More story and less singing. I still like it. It will kick into high gear next week with Hollywood week. I like that part the most. So until next week…c-ya!

Salt Lake City Auditions

There are no pictures today since AI didn't think this group was important enough to take any besides group shots. Strange! So let’s get right to it.

The Good:

David Osmund – Good looking man. Nice voice. I liked him. He seemed a little too old to be an idol but I think he should move on.

25 minutes and only 1 good singer?!? This show is ALL filler this year.

Frankie - She has good voice but she is annoying. But I am annoyed easily.

Meghan – I wanted to like her. I think I didn’t like her as much because of the song choice. She has range, but song choice, song choice, song choice. She is different…but the show is about conformity, truly. So we shall see…

Austin – I’m not sure about him. His lisp distracted me during the singing. Second song was better. Hard to see him as the next AI. I think this competition will chew him up and spit him out.

Taylor – That’s 16?!? Why do these kids seem so old! Her voice sounded like an angel. She got the golden rewind. Let her sing!!

Rose – Reminds me of Brooke last year. Voice for a certain type of song. Wont be the idol but may go far.


The Bad:

Red hair gothic chick-pointless, Cross-eyed guy-who was he talking to?!?, Andrew “kick worm”-that was pathetic, Did that crying girl have a puppet-always a bad idea.

The true bad was that this show could really be 20 minutes long if you took out the fluff and commercials!!! 6 good singers featured, each singing a minute song=hour long show?!?

They better get better when we get to Hollywood. This is ridiculous. But I’m still a fan! Until next week…er…tomorrow. I guess another show. Okay..until then…c-ya!

Jacksonville Auditions

The Good:


Joshua – He had a very interesting voice but his personality was so annoying. I think with work they may be able to do something with him. I understand confidence but he was just obnoxious.


Sharon – How will she last without her dog if she makes it? Her voice was nothing special and she was very breathy.



Julissa - beauty(?) queen – she was good. Whitney is hard. Good voice control. She can sing without shouting. I understand Simon. She has a terrible speaking voice, not pretty, huge mouth and a weird personality. But she can sing.



Jasmine - Gorgeous…that’s 16?!? Her voice was too nasal. I don’t think she was good enough.




Anne Marie - Very sweet voice and natural talent. Missing that star power but I think she can get it. Better but not sure how far she will go. Deserves to go to Hollywood.




T.K. – Nice looking man. Yum! Voice was good much like any voice on the radio today.




The bad:








Chaka Khan singer – terrible, Anita Baker singer – even worse. Boys II Men singer – I couldn’t stop laughing at him crying over someone he barely knew getting declined. The funniest thing is people walking away with their posters. Minnie Rippleton singer – Waste of Time! Physics guy – not sure what song he was singing! Awkward!!! Guitar Guy – Waaahhh!! What an ass…turned on his momma!


I think tomorrow is the end of auditions and we get to Hollywood where the real work happens. So until then…c-ya!

Louisville Auditions

American Idol - Louisville Auditions

Tiffany – positive attitude even if they don’t make it…always mean they won’t. Her speaking voice was even bad. Mom rocking out next to her singing was worth it!

Joanna – Me! I was great! Oh, another Joanna. She was good. But I hate people who were already signed coming back. She was humble. So I liked her.

Mark – Scary, scary man. Simon was scared from the start. But he’s be safe wasn’t a threat. It was a closing. Paula took it somewhere else. Of course…a fan did kill herself in front of her gate. Bygones.

Brent – Nice voice and cute in a country way. Paula needs a sedative. Kara just needs to be put down. Now we have 2 stupid women on the show. Great.

Matt - Dualing piano player. They are soooo annoying, but talented. I could hear him on the radio. I liked him.

Ross – Dork. But will make more than me one day. Probably even now. Oops, occupation - After school tutor. Never mind. Just bad. With my OCD, I feel Paula’s pain.

Alexis Grace – She was good. Hard to peg though. She needs molding.

Aaron – Too enthusiastic for me. He was worse than they thought he was going to be. Do the judges know it’s not about them?

Rebecca – I think they hoped she would forget the lyrics. Kara, “She was voted the most humorous in school, it all makes sense.” LOL!!! Simon, “Stop, quit singing. Say goodbye.”

Kris, Felicia, Ryan, Shera – all good – but they are so many good voices.

LaNeisha – Mom, should be embarrassed now. Hoping to make it on the back of her 18 year old daughter. Shame. FIRST TIME EVER – self-written song was good. I could hear that on Z90 right now. Good job.

Another audition is over. Simon is the only sane one there. Thankfully they found him. New judge is starting to get on my nerves. But I’m still loving this show! So until next week, C-ya!

San Francisco Auditions

Let’s get to it….this is American Idol – San Francisco


.

Tatianna – oh my gosh!! Can’t stand her!!! At all!!! She wont make it through Hollywood week. She is too damn annoying. I thought her vocals were good…imitation…but not as bad as others. But she bugs!


Red Headed Beat Box – yuck!



Dean Anthony – Dude with a couch for a coat - perfect as a ghoul in the movies. Simon, “At least your not going to be cold.”




Jesus – cutie pie and he did not have a bad voice. But his looks and performance are not enough for him to be the next American Idol. A waste of a spot just to fill good.

Dalton – Rubic’s dude. Painful.




Akilah – Sometimes books are bad. Your hair should never be a color that cannot be found in nature. I thought the last guy was painful.


John & Allison – those are sleepers. They aren’t featured and then all of a sudden, they are in the Top 12!

Annie – She even seemed boarded. Someone lied to her, over and over again and told her she was good.



Adam – musical theatre and ADD. Hmm. Very good voice. I think he will be interesting.




Kai – I am so good he was good. After that sad story. I think he is too “old” for the competition. But it should be interesting.



Another audition gone. This one moved quickly. I liked the hour long format much better. Another show tomorrow. C-ya!

Kansas City Auditions

Sorry for the delay. I fell off the Twilight wagon (‘nuff said). On with the show.

Kelsey Marquardt – Really pretty and really bad - I don’t understand how some people are so delusional. Key is important. She couldn’t find it.

Ashley Anderson – Forgetting the lyrics to song you are singing is bad. Even worse than that the writer of the song is the judge. Her voice was nice but I had the so what factor. Not sure I can see her as the next idol, but she should go through.

I loved the David Cook commercial. The editors of this show are nothing short of genius.

Casey Carlson – Voice was sweet. But she was super cute. She made it on vibe alone.

Brian Hettler – Aretha Franklin, Think - He should of “Thought” about that performance before he went on national t.v. and made an ass of himself.

The bad were really bad in this city.

Von Smith – Hat is always bad. There’s the phlegm…not sure I wanted to hear that. Von, Broadway is calling.

Michael Castro – I don’t care if he can sing, he is too much of an idiot. Damn! He can sing. Another loooong process with the Castros.

Matt – The Welder – I thought he was just okay. I agree with Randy, not right for American Idol.

Jasmine Joseph – Rainbow hair, rainbow song.

Jessica Furney – Janis Joplin – I think with the Hollywood treatment she could do well. I liked her simple style.

Rapping sisters – Really bad and really a waste of time. I hate these types of auditions. I thought both sisters were bad.

Jamar Rogers – California Dreaming – I think another song would have been better for him. I think he could be good, depending on the material.

Daniel Gokey – Wife who passes away – he was good. I liked the tone of his voice.

Anoop Desai – He sang Thank You by Boys II Men – He can sing but he has to work on his star power.

Cheerleaders….Lame!!!!!

Asa Barnes – Band Director – Michael Jackson is such a specific artist. It’s hard to do him well and seem good. He was too affected.

Michael Nicewonder – Own songs about mother and grandmother - trainwreck.

Dennis Brigham - Chris Brown - too affected. Stole a space from someone with real talent. Shame.

Mia Conley – I think she broke 2 wine glasses in my house when she hit that note! Awful.

Lil Rounds – Mom of 3 – she has a very good voice. She will go far….but not the idol.

So that’s day 2 of American Idol. I have seen about 2 people so far that will go really far. The rest will drop off at Hollywood. Interesting season so far. Hang in there folks..4 more months! J

So until next week, C-ya!

Season Premiere




This is American Idol!

Welcome everyone to the 8th season of American Idol. I am not crazy happy yet…but I am starting to get the bug. I almost missed it! I guess my DVR was set to record Scrubs and the Mentalist. I don’t have room on my DVR!!! Something is gonna have to move to Hulu. Since I have 9 unwatched episodes…I guess – bye, bye Mentalist.

I think everyone got my link regarding the changes this year. I think they are going to make the show better. Jury still out about the new judge...but everything else I am cool with. The retrospective at the beginning would have been cool if they hadn’t used that same song each year. I of course wasn’t as moved because I have watched the ending of season 7 over and over on YouTube. Also the year Fantasia won. Great American idol moments! But that was then and this is now...so on to the show.

First 13 minutes and I am already irritated with the new judge. 2 more hours…I will try to be nice.

- Tuan Nguyen, Michael Jackson, not crazy, just not good. Wearing tap shoes home…maybe a little crazy.
- Emily Hughes, pink hair Barracuda, good voice. Yet another gorgeous girl if she just conformed! Love Simon. Tell her like it is,

2 contestants in 20 minutes. AI hasn’t forgotten how to milk the corporate cow.

- Randy Madden, crybaby poser. Really, really bad. Zero star quality. Great dig Simon, “How do you think Straight Up was written?” What are you babbling about Paula!
- JB Ahfua, Filipino dude, beautiful voice. Reminded me of David Archuleta. He will do okay…but 16…competition gets ugly. All the HS girls just melted.
- Michael Gurr, not sure what the F#$% that song was?!? You can see the train wreck from a mile away.

3 contestants in 17 minutes. I guess their getting better?

- Montage of bad singers. How can they go to work tomorrow! Any dude with the name “X-ray” and wearing 1 glove…not good.
- Arianna Afsar, Adopt-a-Granny Girl, very mature voice. I can hear her voice over the radio. She picked the perfect song. San Diego girl too.

Break

- Elijah Scarlett, Barry White, that voice is scary. A voice like that can only be part of a group.
- Lea Marie Golde, Pink Cowgirl, cookoo, I am glad that they stuck to their guns and stopped her in her…boots.
- Stevie Wright, Named after Stevie Nicks, I liked her voice. But she again, will be better once she matures. She’s 16. Something is there. We will see..
Break. I am liking the new judge more. Not too bad.

- Michael Sarver, Ruffneck dude, Not what I expected. I think he was more gimmick then good, But I’ll go with it.
- Bad people again. No names.
- Katrina Darrell, Hooker, She kept jerking her head and was breathy. She had no potential. The new judge could sing, although snapping off beat. Randy and Simon were being…men. I loved it. Between Tina Fey’s “cat sound” and Simon’s pushing his finger claws out one by one-great TV. Did new judge just call her a bitch? Favorite audition ever.

Break. I needed it after that.

- Eric Thomas, Sexual Chocolate, Not good, bad lisp.
- Brianna Quijada, Let’s Hear it for the Boys, hate that song. I had hopes she would bust out but…nope. They had to give it to her because they let the hooker go through. My first tears of the season. Moments like that are why the show continues to be #1.

Break

- Deanna Brown, Dock of the Bay, interesting voice. But I am sure I will hate her later as ALL of her songs will sound the same. Great answer to their question, so I like her.
- Cody Sheldon, Horror kid, I thought he was just ok.

Break.

- Alex Wagner-Trugman, B in Spanish kid, OMG! He was so good! My favorite. I’m calling my shot. Top 12! I think with A LOT of training, he can be molded.
- Dead or alive…no…still dead. More train wreck singers.
- Scott Macintyre, Sort of blind dude, nice voice. Ryan Seacrest - I’m giving you a high five?!? He’s such an ass!

So pretty strong season premiere. I’m hooked. I like the talent so far and featuring the bad people in a montage is better. I like to hear the good ones more. That’s it for tonight. It’s on again tomorrow. Same bat time, same bat station. C-ya!